We’re battening down the hatches here in preparation for Hurricane Sandy! We’ve all showered and the dishes are done, the laundry’s been tackled and we’ve secured our lawn furniture, including bringing our political signs inside. Right now I’m cooking the last of the freezer food for lunch, and we’re all crossing our fingers for no power outage. To anyone who may be reading, stay safe, if you’ve been told to evacuate better safe than sorry! We’ll see you when this is over!  Meanwhile:

  • A 12 year-old girl who loves cares so much she’s restoring her own Fiero! I wish my 12 year-old self had hobbies with such productive yields.
  • If the Battle of Hastings took place on this hill, where are all the bodies? Turns out it probably was the next hill over.
  • No link for this, but I was extremely pleased to hear the jerk mayor of the town next door fending off partisan goading by a local AM DJ. Yes, everyone should take in their political lawn signs, not just Democrats, and no, the response to this storm is not less than previous ones. He’s still a wiener and I’m glad I’m not in his town, but it’s nice to not have possible death and maiming politicised for cheap hits.
